For the best experience with this website,
please enable Javascript.


Title Description Published:

Sonata for Horn and Piano

A sonata in three movements for one or two horns and piano

Approximate total performance time: 18:24

Demo: Produced using virtual instruments.

I. Allegro giusto

II. Adagio, molto rubato e espressivo

III. Allegro assai e marcato

Stylistically, combines the standard sonata-allegro form with classical and contemporary popular idioms. This reflects my (nearly) lifelong interest in producing such works—a genre which I still feel is largely unexplored.

This work premiered ca. 1978 in Marion, OH, with David Hayes of Delaware, OH, playing the horn and the composer playing the piano.